Skip to content

Update – Space Marines Complete!

2008/07/15

Recently finished the third marine in this set! Had better control with the brushes with the last one (red/silver marine on the right), though it’s still messy, especially with the drybrushing. Most difficult part was the eyes. My boyfriend got me the set of foundation paints, so that’s mainly what I used to paint the third one. It’s not as glossy as the other two and it seems to go on much smoother than the regular paint.

With the last marine, I got to play around with highlighting now that I have some brighter colors. You can see the highlights best on the back of his leg armors, along the toe of his boots (which is covered by sand, sorry about that), and along his knuckles. This was more of an experiment since it’s my first time mixing colors, so I didn’t make the highlights with a single source of light shining from one direction.

I used Mechrite Red to paint his armor. For the highlights, I mixed Iyanden Darksun (yellow) with the Mechrite Red, and it created an orangey-red color which I lined around the edges of his armor. It actually worked out pretty well I think. In the end, I didn’t use any of the decals on these guys cause I wanted to play around more with the colors.

Citadel Hobby Starter Set, foundations, clippers, starter brush, sand, grass, white glue, plastic glue

Citadel Hobby Starter Set: foundations, clippers, starter brush, sand, grass, white glue, plastic glue

Squad, front view

Squad, front view

Squad, back view

Squad, back view

Squad, side view

Squad, side view

omg fox

omg fox

Master Chief cameo and giant fox

Master Chief cameo and giant fox

phew! there it goes

phew! there it goes

omg giant yeti

omg giant yeti

lol ok, gettin a little carried away. Til next time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

